医疗保健和生命科学

 

New England Biolabs 在 Salesforce 移动应用程序中创建了一个应用程序,允许市场营销人员查看客户正在使用的实验室样本。 只需轻轻一点按钮,就可以向客户发送新样本、续订订单以及执行其他操作。

如今,人们希望在智能手机上轻点下单后,很快就可以收到商品,因此生命科学领域的研究人员面临巨大压力,想更快获得突破性的发现也就不足为奇了。

让人们耐心降低的技术也为 NEB 提供了解决方案。 NEB 团队借助 Salesforce 平台可以快速创建和部署社交与移动应用程序,全球实验室的科研人员可以获得实验所需的珍贵材料,方便程度和服务水平均达到了前所未有的高度。

NEB 为基因组研究提供了最为齐全的重组酶和天然酶,因此该公司业务所面临的最大挑战之一是确保研究人员可以随时随地获得自己所需的合适产品。

针对这个问题,有一个非常简单的解决方案: 在全球的实验室内放置 NEB 冷冻箱,用于存放实验室科研人员需要的材料。 尽管这一方案让 NEB 客户(全球实验室的科研人员)可以更容易获得产品,但是 NEB 仍旧无法了解哪些科研人员在具体使用哪些样本以及他们的使用频率。

 

我们致力于帮助研究人员更快获得成果。”

NEB 前首席信息官 Ken Grady 说:“我们开始思考,如果我们将冷冻箱接入 Salesforce 系统,我们将获得哪些信息。 我们可以怎样利用这些信息更好地对客户做出响应。”

2012 年,NEB 前往 Dreamforce,了解通用电气等其他公司和客户是如何与 Salesforce 进行合作的。 但是 IT 团队仍旧不知道该创建或接入哪些内容,甚至不知道如何主动利用这一平台更好地回应客户。 直到团队成员回到酒店休息时,小吧台给了他们启发: 如果酒店能够跟踪客人们从小吧台里取走的产品,为什么 NEB 的冷冻箱就不能跟踪科研人员购买的产品呢?

再次研究了 Salesforce Salesforce Platform 和它的 API 及 Heroku 等解决方案之后,团队成员发现开发交互式的冷冻箱模型要比开发传统模型更快。 团队仅用了几周时间就完成了新模型的迭代和集成,并未耗费几个月。

Salesforce Platform 的 API 为其提供了其他平台不具备的功能。 借助 Salesforce Platform,NEB 首先在不到 30 天内构建了一款客户库存应用程序。 该应用程序安装在各冷冻箱前的平板内,科研人员可以进行身份验证,查看可用产品,开启冷冻箱并在扫描产品后离开。 该流程的每一个步骤均为自动处理,并且与 Salesforce 后端相连,NEB 员工可以在桌面或 Salesforce 移动应用程序上监控所购买的产品,自动发送订单确认邮件并实时跟踪全新购买趋势和科研人员兴趣。

NEB 也可以获取客户交互数据、冷冻箱温度和锁定情况,以确保产品质量,这一点是公司之前无法做到的。 此外,NEB 将 Salesforce 连接到自己的后端系统,并通过现有的 ERP 系统自动进行库存补充,每天不断为客户提供所需的产品。

如果帮助手册无法解答您实际遇到的所有问题,那么您可以向我们的销售代表寻求答案。如果您有关于产品、实施、集成等方面的问题,欢迎致电咨询。我们销售代表都经过专业培训,随时可以为您解答。
或致电 4001-201-224

Healthcare and Life Sciences

 

New England Biolabs created an app in the Salesforce1 Mobile App that allows marketers to see what kind of lab samples their customers are using. And with the tap of button, they send customers new samples, refill orders, and more.

In a world where people expect a ride to show up just a few moments after they order it with the tap of a finger on a smartphone, is it any surprise that life sciences researchers are under tremendous pressure to discover breakthroughs faster than ever?

For New England Biolabs, the very technologies that have made people less patient for answers have also turned out to be the solution. In fact, with the Salesforce platform, the team at NEB is able to quickly create and deploy social and mobile apps that allow scientists in laboratories around the world to get the precious materials they need for experiments — all with a higher degree of convenience and support than ever before.

Because NEB offers the largest selection of recombinant and native enzymes for genomic research, one of its biggest business challenges is ensuring that the right products are available to researchers when and where they need them.

One solution was simple: Put NEB freezers in labs around the world stocked with the materials scientists in those labs require. However, while this freezer program allowed NEB’s customers (scientists in labs across the globe) to access products more easily, it still left NEB in the dark about which specific scientists were using which samples, and how often.

 

We’re all about helping researchers get to that eureka moment faster.”

“We began to think, what would our freezers tell us if we connected them into our Salesforce environment. How could that help us to become more responsive to our customers,” said Ken Grady, former CIO at NEB.

In 2012, the New England Biolabs team went to Dreamforce and observed what other companies — like GE, with its connected engine — were doing with Salesforce. But the IT team still wasn’t sure what to build or connect, or even how to leverage the platform more aggressively to be more responsive to customers. Until, that is, team members went back to the hotel to relax and found the answer in their minibar: If the hotel could track the products they were pulling from the minibar, why couldn’t NEB’s freezers track what scientists were purchasing?

Taking another look at the Salesforce Platform, with its APIs and solutions like Heroku, the team found that developing an interactive freezer model would be faster than a more traditional model. In fact, it took only a matter weeks, rather than months, to iterate and integrate the new model.
The APIs from the Salesforce Platform made it possible to do things that no other platform could. In fact, using the Salesforce Platform, NEB started by building a custom inventory app in less than 30 days. This app, residing on a tablet on the front of each freezer, allows scientists to authenticate themselves, view available products, open freezers, and scan products for checkout. Every step of this process is automated and connected on the back end to Salesforce, where NEB can monitor the products being purchased, send automated purchase confirmation emails, and track new buying trends and interests of scientists in real time on their desktop or the Salesforce1 Mobile App.

NEB could also capture customer interaction data, freezer temperature, and lock status, to ensure product quality, which was something the company could never do before. Additionally, NEB connected Salesforce to its own back-end systems and automated inventory replenishment through its existing ERP system to consistently provide scientists with the products they need on a daily basis.

 

Discover how trailblazers across nine industries are building apps to drive productivity, boost collaboration, and connect with customers in a whole new way.